An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information


There are currently approximately 30 valid agreements between Estonia and Russia.

New bilateral agreements have not been signed in recent years. As from 1 January 2017, Estonia-Russia cross-border cooperation agreement and amendments to the social  insurance agreement are being prepared. Examples of agreements that have been signed and enforced since 2000:

  • Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Estonia and the Government of the Russian Federation on the Conditions of the Location of the Estonian Embassy in the Russian Federation and the location of the Russian Embassy in the Republic of Estonia (came into force on 2 April 2014)
  • Agreement on Aviation (came into force on 30/08/2000)
  • Agreement on International Highway Transport (came into force on 26/03/2001)
  • Protocol on Concerning the Agreement on Legal Aid and Legal Relations in Civil, Family and Criminal Cases (came into force on 20/05/2002)
  • Estonia-Russia Pension Insurance Co-operation Agreement (letters of ratification exchanged on 2 March 2012)