Updated information about countries and self-isolation requirements for passengers from Europe as of 6 July

On Monday, the government adjusted the rate of new infections to the European Union average, which is 16 cases per 100 000 inhabitants over two weeks. Due to the change in the infection rate, passengers arriving from the United Kingdom will no longer have to self-isolate when travelling to Estonia.

This means that based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday 6 July, a mandatory two-week self-isolation applies to passengers arriving from Bulgaria, Croatia, Luxembourg, Portugal, Sweden, Romania, and the Czech Republic.

Starting from this week, passengers travelling from the European Union to Estonia will not have to self-isolate if they arrive from the United Kingdom, Austria, Belgium, Spain, the Netherlands, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Norway, Poland, France, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark and Hungary. For passengers arriving from the rest of the world, mandatory self-isolation still currently applies.

Information about the countries of the European Union and self-isolation rules is updated every Friday. Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: https://vm.ee/en/information-countries-and-self-isolation-requirements-p…

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Foreign Ministry strongly advises against travel, except for European countries where the rate of infection is below 16 per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days, and where mandatory self-isolation on return does not apply.

When travelling, we advise keeping the following in mind:

  • before planning your trip, please consult the Foreign Ministry website for the infection rate in your planned country of destination;
  • stay up to date with possible travel restrictions in your destination – please consult the Reisi Targalt website, the ReOpen portal of the European Union, and, if necessary, contact the foreign mission of the country of destination for details;
  • register your trip at the Foreign Ministry’s Reisi Targalt website to allow us to notify you of possible travel restrictions;
  • follow the recommendations of the Estonian Health Board (PDF) (in Estonian) for a safe flight to protect your health and that of others – if you show symptoms, please postpone your trip and contact your GP;
  • obtain travel insurance and carefully read the conditions of your insurance (including for travel interruptions caused by COVID-19);
  • at your destination, follow the instructions of local authorities and keep up to date with possible new restrictions;
  • on your return, follow the rules introduced in Estonia, monitor your health, and if you suspect you have been infected with the virus, contact your GP.

We would like to highlight that countries can change their conditions for entry and stay at short notice. We recommend contacting the representation or the relevant authorities of the country of destination for more detailed information on the conditions in force there.

Additional information:
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia
Communication Department